Nothing Adventured, Nothing Attained

As I sat on my bed, staring at the blank Microsoft document, bribing the muse to come to me, it hit me that I forgot to mention something very important in the “About Me” section. I have mentioned my love for just about everything but nature. The thing is, sometimes, I just like to sit back and take in nature. To look at the birds, listen to them chirp, discover a new insect, sleep under the stars; that sort of thing, you know? Being a Girl Guide, gives me the opportunity to do that for a week once every year.

We travel to new, unfamiliar places every year. This year, we went to the Dooars and I was particularly excited about this one because breathing in clean, crisp air isn’t something one can do everyday, not in my urban twenty-first century life, at least.

Sight Seeing, Jungle Safari and activities like Rock Climbing and River Crossing, we did it all. From plantations to dense tress (the kind one sees in films?), there was so much to see and take in. I fail to recall the name of the place now, but at one point of time, we were standing across the India-Bhutan border with the River Teesta separating us and the view was breathtaking, for the lack of any other word. It was then that I just stopped and closed my eyes. When I turned my face to the wind, I could feel it sweep along my skin in an invisible ocean of exultation. I live for moments like these. The moments that make you feel alive.

Photobombing Nature
Photobombing Nature

At the end of each camping day, I’d look around and see how all of us had dirty feet, and hair, so messy that if a stranger saw us, he’d be convinced that we were all homeless wrecks. But all this hardly mattered when I saw the sparkle in our eyes.

Chasing the sunset
Chasing the sunset

On the last day of the camp, we all sat around the campfire, sang silly songs and danced like no one was watching. It was then that I realized I had made friends that I’d keep for a lifetime because bonds made around the campfire, don’t break easily.

People often ask me, why one would voluntarily give up all the comforts of the modern life for a week or more only to go and live in the jungle. What non-campers don’t understand is that nature soothes and heals. For me, it simply puts my senses back in order.

Adventure Awaits
Adventure Awaits
Leave a Reply

